Share this

Academic Collaboration

In 2009, Health Science Scotland was formed to facilitate collaboration and promote excellence in the field of clinical and translational medicine. This Academic Health Science Collaboration involved four medical universities – University of Aberdeen, University of Dundee, the University of Edinburgh and the University of Glasgow, and their associated NHS Health Boards.

From 2015, Health Science Scotland is now part of NHS Research Scotland and brings together Government, Academia and the National Health Service, providing an operating structure that reaches across a wide range of disciplines, has access to all tiers of care, and can address virtually all of the chronic diseases that afflict developed countries.

Scotland has developed research expertise in a number of translational, clinical and therapeutic areas. Each draw on the depth of researchers and their expertise, frequently using a range of techniques and assets.