Share this

Steering Committee

The Scottish Pain Research Community (SPaRC) has a multidisciplinary steering committee to represent a wide range of expertise across basic science, clinical, and population health science.

The committee members are as follows:

  Professor Lesley Colvin (Chair) - Consultant Anaesthesia & Pain Management, Senior Lecturer, NHS Lothian, University of Edinburgh and Dundee, Royal College of Anaesthetists. 
  Professor Blair H. Smith - National Lead Clinician for Chronic Pain, Scottish Government, Professor of Population Science University of Dundee.



Mia Kopenen - PhD Student, University of Dundee (Early Careers member) 

  Professor Paul A. Cameron - Head of Pain Service and Clinical Lead
  Professor Sue Fleetwood-Walker - Chair of Sensory Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh.
  Professor Tim G. Hales - Director Institute of Academic Anaesthesia, Centre for Neuroscience, Ninewells Hospital & Medical School.
  Professor Gary J. Macfarlane - Professor of Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen.
  Dr Kathryn Martin - Lecturer in Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen.
  Heather Wallace - Pain Concern (PWLE member) 


Dr Line Caes - Lecturer in Psychology, University of Stirling.  


 Dr Carole Torsney - Reader in Biomedical Sciences, University of     Edinburgh




 Dr Carrie Stewart - Research Fellow, Ageing Clinical and Experimental  Research Team, University of Aberdeen


  Dr Chloe Fawns-Ritchie - Lecturer in Psychology, University of Dundee
 Andrew Bretherick


Dr Andrew Bretherick - ECAT Clinical Lecturer, University of Edinburgh